Ian’s vocab

Standard

My four year old Ian, I believe your vocabulary might be past your age bracket. Here’s the conversation we had today just before nap:

M: You’re playing with your Cars figures a lot today, do you like them?
I: Yeah, they’re cool.
M: Is that Mader? Is he your favorite?
I: Yes, it is. He’s a tow truck. He’s really big, do you see how big he is? But I like Lightening McQueen better.
M: Really? Where’s your Lightening McQueen car?
I: Well, I have several but none are available right now.

Uh, ok kid. I didn’t know you knew how to use the word available correctly. A few weeks ago you asked me if you could help carry the beverages downstairs. I love it, but I’m a bit surprised by your vocab skills!

Last night I finally got to put you to bed. Your sister is pretty attached to Mommy and usually cries if Mommy leaves the room, so Daddy gets to put you to bed most days. It was nice to read you a book, cuddle and talk in bed. We talked about when you grow up, you said you might want to have some kids.

M: When you get older you’ll probably get married and have kids.
I: Yeah, that sounds about right.
M: How many kids do you think you’ll have?
I: Probably nine.
M: (trying not to giggle or sound surprised) Oh? That’s a bunch of kids! Do you think Daddy and I could visit and play with them?
I: That would be ok. It might be nine four-year-olds.
M: Well, we’ll do our best to play then.
I: Ok Mom, you can go now.

So, I was shocked then dismissed in a matter of a few minutes. You also said some rough things that made me sad, that you love Dad more and that you don’t love me. I know we’re still working on the concept that you can love many people, and I know that Dad’s the cool one right now. I’m sure it will come around again, it always does, but it’s amazing how much that can hurt a Mommy’s heart even though I know where it’s coming from.

Regardless, you woke up this morning happy and amazingly independent. You got right up, went to the bathroom, got yourself dressed (looked pretty handsome too!) and then came in to wake Dad and I up at 7:30. You politely asked us to get up, cuddled for a few minutes and then wandered off. We got up to find you quietly coloring by yourself. It’s a drawing to send to Judi to thank her for the birthday train book she made you, I’ll post a picture of it below.

Ian's drawing age 4Ian’s drawing of three robots and a fire.

Overall Ian you are awesome and never cease to amaze me. Moving past three has been great, and so far four is better and I’m so, so glad. Less tantrums, a little less sassiness, replaced with talking back and some hurtful well articulated comments, but so many more I love you’s, funny sayings, loving comments and just fun. Four might be a challenge but so far I think it’s more fun than three.

I love you Ian James Myers.

About maria7z

I am a wife, mom and woman trying to find balance in my world. Between work, caring for my kids and loving on my husband (oh yeah, and making time for me) I am always trying to find a way to make it all work. Here's some insight on that journey, however unsuccessful I may be!

Leave a Reply

